Necromancer Profession Guide in Guild Wars

Knoji reviews products and up-and-coming brands we think you'll love. In certain cases, we may receive a commission from brands mentioned in our guides. Learn more.
Necromancer Profession Guide in Guild wars

 The Professions of Guild Wars

Make Your Choice

Warrior, Elementalist, Monk, Dervish, Ranger, Mesmer, Necromancer, Paragon, Ritualist, or Assassin. Every profession has its own strengths and characteristics, a weapon or magic specialty, and a unique set of skills with which to deal damage, manipulate the enemy or environment, or protect and heal allies. Each profession provides a set of attributes which determines the effectiveness of weapons and skills in battle.

Primary Profession

Your primary profession determines your hero's basic appearance, including the type of armor the hero wears. It also provides several attributes that improve skills over time including a primary attribute that is not available when the profession is chosen as a secondary.

Secondary Profession

Your secondary profession provides your hero with a second set of attributes and skills to compliment the first. (Your secondary profession does not have access to the primary attribute for that profession.)


The Necromancer wields the power of death itself, a power no enemy can stand against forever. The dark arts of the Necromancer—Curses, Death Magic, and Blood Magic—usually take a toll on the caster by forcing a sacrifice of Health, but the harm that befalls a Necromancer's foes in return makes this a small, if painful, price to pay. Necromancers can command the corpses of their enemies (or even allies) as deadly foot soldiers using Death Magic, while Blood Magic drains Health from foes and transfers it to the Necromancer. Curses hurt the Necromancer, but hurt the Necromancer's opponents even more by sapping enemy Enchantments and healing abilities. Necromancers keep their Energy bars full with Soul Reaping, the primary Necromancer attribute, which feeds upon the deaths of others. The Necromancer requires patience and discipline to master. Knowing the necromancer attributes will make you know how to use it. Below is the list of necromancer attributes with their corresponding uses.

Necromancer Attributes

Soul Reaping


Soul Reaping, the Necromancer's primary attribute, improves your ability to gain Energy whenever a creature near you dies.
Curses Add points to Curses and boost the duration and effectiveness of Curse skills, reducing your enemies' effectiveness in battle.
Blood Magic Blood Magic adds to the duration and effectiveness of skills that steal Health from enemies and give it to you.
Death Magic Increase Death Magic to augment the duration and effect of skills that deal cold and shadow damage, as well as those that summon undead minions for you to command.