Leona Zoey

@LeonaZoey12
10
Reputation
0
Answers
20
Questions
45
Profile views
Leona zoey is content writer and blogger. Active member on all online platform like knoji, quora.com, medium.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
After a serious accident, you know that you need a personal injury attorney to help you receive compensation for your case. However, where do you turn when you are injured and need to navigate the complex system of automobile claims in Georgia?Luckily, there are personal injury advocates out there ready to help. However, not all attorneys are created the same. Therefore, if you are searching for an injury attorney, look for one that has these following attributes.What Six Attributes Should a Personal Injury Attorney Have?You do not have to look far to find an attorney in Georgia, but if you want one that is there to help you and advocate for your right to compensation, here are six attributes to look for:One: ExperienceYou do want a personal injury attorney with vast experience in the type of case you have. If you have a car accident case, you want a lawyer with experience in motor vehicle accident claims. Some personal injury attorneys specialize in certain areas of tort laws, such as motor vehicle accidents, premises liability, and medical liability.Two: Good CommunicationYour attorney is your advocate, but they cannot advocate well if they do not communicate with you well. A great lawyer is one that is an excellent communicator with his clients, but also with insurance claims adjusters and other attorneys. Your attorney should be able to keep you up-to-date on your case’s progress and return calls promptly.Three: Track RecordIn addition to having your goals in mind, you also want to look at an attorney’s track record. A potential personal injury lawyer should have a success rate with their cases. After all, to receive maximum compensation, you need an attorney that knows how to negotiate with insurance companies to receive the highest compensation possible. Four: Tenacious PersonalityYou want a lawyer who will fight for you. Once you hire them, they are now solely responsible for representing your best interests. They should be a trusted, likable advocate that is in your corner. You want them to be willing to go to court if the negotiations out of court breakdown. You see, insurance companies want to save money, and a jury trial costs a good deal of money. So if your attorney is known for fighting hard – and not being afraid to go to trial – the insurance company is more likely to settle.Five: Peer RespectYou do not want an attorney that is only feared by insurance companies. Instead, other attorneys should have respect for the attorney you select. They should have peer reviews and recommendations online, proving that they are good in their field.Six: EmpathyAttorneys are supposed to be a non-biased party, but that does not mean they should not have feelings. You want an attorney that is sympathetic and understands what you are going through. They should be able to put themselves into your shoes and use that to fight for you.Take Your Time and Find the Right Attorney for the JobThe longer you take to find the right fit, the better the outcome will be. If you ensure the attorney you select has the six attributes mentioned above, you are on your way to picking the right Georgia personal injury advocate for your case.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
A workplace injury is something that no one expects. But when it happens to you, you need to be prepared for what to do next. Workplace injuries can be tragic. Not only are you no longer able to work, but you still must support your family and navigate the complex area of workers’ compensation. Workers’ compensation is a state-sponsored insurance that is designed to provide you with financial assistance if you become injured and are unable to work because of a work-related injury or illness.Where Did Workers’ Compensation Come From?In 1882, Labor Day established the movement in which employees found that they were overworked, underpaid, and often mistreated by their employers. The parade in 1882 was what brought awareness and forced workers to stand up for their rights. Today, workplaces know that they must care for their employees and take care of them when they become injured.Not only are there federal regulations, but now states require that employers care for their employees in the event they are injured on the job.Facts to Know about Workers’ Compensation in New JerseyIf you work in New Jersey, and you are injured on the job, you may qualify for workers’ compensation. However, you must know the facts about how this insurance works and the process for receiving payment.Eligibility – You are eligible for workers’ compensation when you sustain a work-related injury, disease, or illness. These must arise out of the ordinary course of employment. Even if you are no longer working, if the injury stems back from your employment, you can still collect the benefits, but you must prove that it was work-related to do so. You can also obtain benefits for injuries from work-related accidents, such as lifting, falling, or an automobile accident. Repetitive motion or exposure to toxins also qualifies.Lost Wages – You can receive temporary disability benefits from workers’ compensation if you have become disabled due to your work-related injury or illness. However, you must be disabled for seven consecutive days before you can unlock the lost wages benefit. From there, you will only receive 70 percent of your average weekly salary, which is subject to the maximum set by the statute. Medical Benefits and Payments – Your employer, via workers’ compensation insurance, provides payment for all necessary and acceptable medical treatments. These treatments must be required for your recovery. Your employer and the insurer do have the right to select the physician that will provide treatment for your injuries.Permanent Disability Benefits – You may receive additional payments after you have exhausted the temporary disability benefits and medical treatments only if you have a permanent disability. You do not need a total permanent disability to collect this version of disability benefits, but you could receive lifetime benefits if it is decided that you are permanently unable to work due to the injury or illness.Fault Does Not Apply – Unlike regular injury cases, responsibility does not apply in a workers’ compensation case. Therefore, even if the accident was your fault or partially your fault, you can receive workers’ compensation as long as you were not under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or maliciously causing the injury.Speak with a Workers’ Compensation Attorney for More InformationIt is important that you talk to a workers’ compensation attorney in New Jersey to explore your options. Work alongside a workers’ compensation attorney in New Jersey that can help you obtain the compensation you need and one that is familiar with the latest statutes for injured workers.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
If you live in Southern California, and you are considering a divorce, knowing the types of divorce at your disposal is important. Not all types of divorce work for all situations, while some couples have the luxury of being able to choose from multiple types. Regardless, you cannot fully exercise your rights unless you know the types of divorce that are out there. Most importantly, you should go over these types of divorce with your family law attorney. With an attorney, you can compare your options and decide which route might be best based on the unique circumstances of your case.4 Types of Divorce in CaliforniaIn California, you have four main types of divorces to choose from. The No-Fault DivorceCalifornia allows for no-fault divorces. That means when one spouse wants to dissolve the marriage, they have the right to do so and without fault. Either partner can dissolve the marriage, and they do not need an accusation of fault or valid reason for doing so.When a petition for divorce is filed with the court, the court can terminate the marriage without consideration of fault. The only explanation required by the court is “irreconcilable differences,” which is the court’s way of saying the couple is simply incompatible and the marriage will not work.The Uncontested Divorce OptionAn uncontested divorce happens when both parties reach a mutual agreement for their divorce. They have decided together that ending the marriage is best. Also, they have agreed on other aspects of the divorce process, including:The division of marital assets and liabilities;Financial issues;Spousal and child support;Child custody;And, child visitation.The Summary Dissolution of MarriageAlso referred to as the “simplified divorce,” the summary is an uncontested, no-fault divorce option. When no conflicts occur between the spouses, the couple can use this option. However, it is not recommended, because couples must represent themselves in court to complete a simplified divorce.There are also requirements for a summary dissolution. The couple must:Be married for fewer than five years from the date the action is filed.The couple can have no children together before or during the marriage term.The couple must agree that there will be no spousal support.The couple is required to file jointly for their dissolution.The couple cannot own real estate or share interest in real estate and have no more than $6,000 in marital liabilities.The Limited DivorceCalifornia has a limited divorce, which works similarly to a legal separation. The option allows you time to divide your marital assets and work out any child custody issues before your divorce finalizes. You are required, however, to live separately and you cannot have a sexual relationship with one another or others during this period. The marriage is not dissolved, but the marital status remains in place.In most cases, limited divorces are there for couples with excessive marital assets or complex custody issues that need more time to resolve before they can officially dissolve the marriage. However, this type of divorce rarely works for most couples.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
If you live in Southern California, and you are considering a divorce, knowing the types of divorce at your disposal is important. Not all types of divorce work for all situations, while some couples have the luxury of being able to choose from multiple types. Regardless, you cannot fully exercise your rights unless you know the types of divorce that are out there. Most importantly, you should go over these types of divorce with your family law attorney. With an attorney, you can compare your options and decide which route might be best based on the unique circumstances of your case.4 Types of Divorce in CaliforniaIn California, you have four main types of divorces to choose from. The No-Fault DivorceCalifornia allows for no-fault divorces. That means when one spouse wants to dissolve the marriage, they have the right to do so and without fault. Either partner can dissolve the marriage, and they do not need an accusation of fault or valid reason for doing so.When a petition for divorce is filed with the court, the court can terminate the marriage without consideration of fault. The only explanation required by the court is “irreconcilable differences,” which is the court’s way of saying the couple is simply incompatible and the marriage will not work.The Uncontested Divorce OptionAn uncontested divorce happens when both parties reach a mutual agreement for their divorce. They have decided together that ending the marriage is best. Also, they have agreed on other aspects of the divorce process, including:The division of marital assets and liabilities;Financial issues;Spousal and child support;Child custody;And, child visitation.The Summary Dissolution of MarriageAlso referred to as the “simplified divorce,” the summary is an uncontested, no-fault divorce option. When no conflicts occur between the spouses, the couple can use this option. However, it is not recommended, because couples must represent themselves in court to complete a simplified divorce.There are also requirements for a summary dissolution. The couple must:Be married for fewer than five years from the date the action is filed.The couple can have no children together before or during the marriage term.The couple must agree that there will be no spousal support.The couple is required to file jointly for their dissolution.The couple cannot own real estate or share interest in real estate and have no more than $6,000 in marital liabilities.The Limited DivorceCalifornia has a limited divorce, which works similarly to a legal separation. The option allows you time to divide your marital assets and work out any child custody issues before your divorce finalizes. You are required, however, to live separately and you cannot have a sexual relationship with one another or others during this period. The marriage is not dissolved, but the marital status remains in place.In most cases, limited divorces are there for couples with excessive marital assets or complex custody issues that need more time to resolve before they can officially dissolve the marriage. However, this type of divorce rarely works for most couples.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
Georgia is a bustling state. Not only is it a top tourist attraction, but the cities of the state are full of motor vehicles and people, which increase the likelihood of an accident. If you are in a motor vehicle collision, it is important that you know how the process of filing a claim and receiving a settlement works here in Georgia.Each state has their process for accident claims, but also Georgia has different insurance and liability laws, which can complicate matters even further.Do You Report Your Accident to the Police?Yes, you should always report an accident to law enforcement immediately. You are required by law to report the accident if there is an injury, death, or the estimated damage is over $500 – which is often the case for most incidents. The state requires that all parties exchange information after the accident as well, which includes names, contact details, insurance policy information, and driver’s licenses. Understanding the Insurance Laws for Georgia AutomobilesGeorgia has minimum liability coverage amounts for all vehicles operating in the state. Drivers must carry:$25,000 for any injury or death per person$50,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in a single motor vehicle accident$25,000 for property damageThe PIP Insurance for GeorgiaIn addition to regular insurance, some vehicles are insured with PIP (personal injury protection). While the state does not require such coverage, many motorists are now supplementing coverage with PIP for extra protection. One of the biggest advantages to PIP is that it can cover drivers and passengers regardless of who is at fault.The Statute of LimitationsIf you are going to file a claim with the insurer of the at-fault party, then you must do so right away. Even if you were not at-fault, you are also required to tell your insurance company about the accident. If you decide that you need to file a claim, you have up to two years to do so. It is critical that you understand this statute of limitations in Georgia because if you file your claim after your two-year window has passed, you cannot collect compensation.Comparative Fault in the State of GeorgiaGeorgia uses the modified comparative fault rule. This means that your damages are reduced – or eliminated entirely – if you are partially or entirely at-fault for the incident. Under this law, your losses are reduced by a percentage amount. Therefore, if the court feels that you were 20 percent at-fault for your accident, then your compensation would be reduced by 20 percent to compensate for the fact that you caused a portion of the injuries.Do You Need an Attorney to File an Accident Claim in Georgia?While you could easily file a claim with your insurance company, realize that the insurance company will offer a settlement that minimizes their losses. Therefore, they may only offer you the bare minimum, without you realizing just how much you are entitled to. To protect your best interests, always speak with a Georgia personal injury attorney.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
Georgia is a bustling state. Not only is it a top tourist attraction, but the cities of the state are full of motor vehicles and people, which increase the likelihood of an accident. If you are in a motor vehicle collision, it is important that you know how the process of filing a claim and receiving a settlement works here in Georgia.Each state has their process for accident claims, but also Georgia has different insurance and liability laws, which can complicate matters even further.Do You Report Your Accident to the Police?Yes, you should always report an accident to law enforcement immediately. You are required by law to report the accident if there is an injury, death, or the estimated damage is over $500 – which is often the case for most incidents. The state requires that all parties exchange information after the accident as well, which includes names, contact details, insurance policy information, and driver’s licenses. Understanding the Insurance Laws for Georgia AutomobilesGeorgia has minimum liability coverage amounts for all vehicles operating in the state. Drivers must carry:$25,000 for any injury or death per person$50,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in a single motor vehicle accident$25,000 for property damageThe PIP Insurance for GeorgiaIn addition to regular insurance, some vehicles are insured with PIP (personal injury protection). While the state does not require such coverage, many motorists are now supplementing coverage with PIP for extra protection. One of the biggest advantages to PIP is that it can cover drivers and passengers regardless of who is at fault.The Statute of LimitationsIf you are going to file a claim with the insurer of the at-fault party, then you must do so right away. Even if you were not at-fault, you are also required to tell your insurance company about the accident. If you decide that you need to file a claim, you have up to two years to do so. It is critical that you understand this statute of limitations in Georgia because if you file your claim after your two-year window has passed, you cannot collect compensation.Comparative Fault in the State of GeorgiaGeorgia uses the modified comparative fault rule. This means that your damages are reduced – or eliminated entirely – if you are partially or entirely at-fault for the incident. Under this law, your losses are reduced by a percentage amount. Therefore, if the court feels that you were 20 percent at-fault for your accident, then your compensation would be reduced by 20 percent to compensate for the fact that you caused a portion of the injuries.Do You Need an Attorney to File an Accident Claim in Georgia?While you could easily file a claim with your insurance company, realize that the insurance company will offer a settlement that minimizes their losses. Therefore, they may only offer you the bare minimum, without you realizing just how much you are entitled to. To protect your best interests, always speak with a Georgia personal injury attorney.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
If you and your spouse have decided that a divorce is the best choice for your case, you may wonder what type of divorce is best.In the state of Virginia, your options are extensive, but it comes down to the grounds for divorce.  If you can agree on your reasons for divorce and the terms of your decree, you will find that the process is simpler compared to other divorce cases.Regardless, Virginia can consider the allegations of fault; therefore, you must be cautious about how you want to go about filing for divorce.Uncontested Divorce versus Contested DivorceDivorces can be challenged in the state, which means you must have proof that there is a contest. Uncontested means you mutually agree to the process.The Uncontested DivorceAn uncontested divorce means that both parties accept the divorce. You have a written Separation Agreement, which proves that you are agreed upon separation terms, child custody and support, and how you will divide all marital assets. If you do not have children, you can file for divorce within six months of your separation. With kids, you must be separated for at least one year before you can file for the divorce.The Contested DivorceA contested divorce means that one party does not agree to the divorce, or there are disputed issues on the separation agreement. Therefore, you will need to go through the divorce process, wherein disputes on items like alimony, visitation, and child support will be resolved.  The Legal SeparationCouples can engage in a legal separation, which is known as a “limited divorce.” This means that you are divorced from bed and board. There are benefits to a separation. For starters, one spouse may be able to remain on health insurance and take advantage of tax benefits. Also, it allows each spouse adequate time to get on their feet financially and slowly prepare for a full dissolution of the marriage.Limited divorces often require grounds, which are different from a final divorce. Your separation will still require that parties pay child support, handle debts and so forth.The Waiting Period for a DivorceUncontested divorces can take approximately two to three months to complete. However, a contested divorce can last approximately 18 months due to the back and forth negotiations, and issues that are typically decided by the courts. Insurance Coverage for Spouses and ChildrenThe person that is carrying the health insurance for their spouse and children cannot drop them from the policy until the divorce is final. Even then, the federal law requires that employees cover the spouse for up to 36 months with a small additional premium after the divorce to allow them time to reinsure themselves. However, the employer must be notified of the divorce decree.It is Best to Consult with a Family Law AttorneyIf you are considering a divorce in the state of Virginia, realize that family courts here operate differently than others. Therefore, it is in your best interest to speak with an attorney and explore your options.A Fairfax County divorce attorney can help you go over your options, but also help you decide which might be best based on your budget and family situation.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
The Zone Program Integrity Contractors (ZPIC) program, which was designed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), can seek out and act against those that are potentially participating in Medicare or Medicaid fraud. The primary goal of this audit is to identify potential abuse, waste, and fraud. It is important to note that ZPIC is not only for fraud. Even waste is something that a ZPIC audit seeks out to avoid unnecessary waste of taxpayer dollars. It is also important to recognize that ZPIC contractors are not the same as CMS contractors. What Prompts a ZPIC Audit?A ZPIC investigation will usually start when the provider receives a notification. The review system is not at random; instead, there are factors used to decide which providers warrant a professional inspection. Complaints received and referrals may also prompt audit.Factors that influence audits include:Data Analysis – ZPIC can use data to help identify outliers that require an audit. This can include issuing specific services, billing data, the length of stay compared to national data and so forth. For example, an acute hospital care facility with an unusual number of cases might prompt an audit. Another example is a home health care service with patients having extended visits.Complaints – Complaints are made by employees, beneficiaries, and whistleblowers. These claims will almost always trigger a ZPIC audit.Referrals – ZPIC may receive referrals to conduct an audit from other contractors, law enforcement, and other federal agencies.Does ZPIC Have the Authority to Conduct an Audit?ZPIC does have the authority to conduct inspections. They can identify potential fraud, then make recommendations based on their audit results. The actions they could take if they suspect that your organization is guilty of waste or fraud include:Referring cases to law enforcement.Submitting the case to CMS for further investigation or to officially remove the provider from the program.Conducting a visit to the auditee’s location – without announcement.Interviewing staff and management at the facility under audit.Requesting all documentation, medical records, and patient charts to assess charges.Providers are not always warned about an upcoming audit. Instead, ZPIC has the authority to start their investigation and show at the provider's office without notification. In most ZPIC cases, the information comes when the auditor arrives on the scene.Some Providers are More Prone to ZPIC Audits than OthersZPIC tends to audit some providers more than others. In fact, the types targeted in 2017 primarily consist of:Home health organizationsHospice companiesPain management servicesPhysician offices and private practicesAmbulance servicesDiagnostic testing facilitiesClinical laboratoriesChiropractic officesNurse practitionersProtecting Your LicenseZPIC is serious. ZPIC can refer to have you removed from the Medicare and Medicaid programs, but also revoke your license, which makes it impossible for you to treat your patients or operate. ZPIC does have the authority to audit, and a simple analysis of coding and billing with any errors noted could cost your company its license.Therefore, it is imperative that you hire an attorney that has ZPIC experience. Your attorney can defend your practice, hire in house professionals to reassess your billing practices, and protect your license.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
If you and your spouse have decided that a divorce is the best choice for your case, you may wonder what type of divorce is best.In the state of Virginia, your options are extensive, but it comes down to the grounds for divorce.  If you can agree on your reasons for divorce and the terms of your decree, you will find that the process is simpler compared to other divorce cases.Regardless, Virginia can consider the allegations of fault; therefore, you must be cautious about how you want to go about filing for divorce.Uncontested Divorce versus Contested DivorceDivorces can be challenged in the state, which means you must have proof that there is a contest. Uncontested means you mutually agree to the process.The Uncontested DivorceAn uncontested divorce means that both parties accept the divorce. You have a written Separation Agreement, which proves that you are agreed upon separation terms, child custody and support, and how you will divide all marital assets. If you do not have children, you can file for divorce within six months of your separation. With kids, you must be separated for at least one year before you can file for the divorce.The Contested DivorceA contested divorce means that one party does not agree to the divorce, or there are disputed issues on the separation agreement. Therefore, you will need to go through the divorce process, wherein disputes on items like alimony, visitation, and child support will be resolved.  The Legal SeparationCouples can engage in a legal separation, which is known as a “limited divorce.” This means that you are divorced from bed and board. There are benefits to a separation. For starters, one spouse may be able to remain on health insurance and take advantage of tax benefits. Also, it allows each spouse adequate time to get on their feet financially and slowly prepare for a full dissolution of the marriage.Limited divorces often require grounds, which are different from a final divorce. Your separation will still require that parties pay child support, handle debts and so forth.The Waiting Period for a DivorceUncontested divorces can take approximately two to three months to complete. However, a contested divorce can last approximately 18 months due to the back and forth negotiations, and issues that are typically decided by the courts. Insurance Coverage for Spouses and ChildrenThe person that is carrying the health insurance for their spouse and children cannot drop them from the policy until the divorce is final. Even then, the federal law requires that employees cover the spouse for up to 36 months with a small additional premium after the divorce to allow them time to reinsure themselves. However, the employer must be notified of the divorce decree.It is Best to Consult with a Family Law AttorneyIf you are considering a divorce in the state of Virginia, realize that family courts here operate differently than others. Therefore, it is in your best interest to speak with an attorney and explore your options.A Fairfax County divorce attorney can help you go over your options, but also help you decide which might be best based on your budget and family situation.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
If you and your spouse have decided that a divorce is the best choice for your case, you may wonder what type of divorce is best.In the state of Virginia, your options are extensive, but it comes down to the grounds for divorce.  If you can agree on your reasons for divorce and the terms of your decree, you will find that the process is simpler compared to other divorce cases.Regardless, Virginia can consider the allegations of fault; therefore, you must be cautious about how you want to go about filing for divorce.Uncontested Divorce versus Contested DivorceDivorces can be challenged in the state, which means you must have proof that there is a contest. Uncontested means you mutually agree to the process.The Uncontested DivorceAn uncontested divorce means that both parties accept the divorce. You have a written Separation Agreement, which proves that you are agreed upon separation terms, child custody and support, and how you will divide all marital assets. If you do not have children, you can file for divorce within six months of your separation. With kids, you must be separated for at least one year before you can file for the divorce.The Contested DivorceA contested divorce means that one party does not agree to the divorce, or there are disputed issues on the separation agreement. Therefore, you will need to go through the divorce process, wherein disputes on items like alimony, visitation, and child support will be resolved.  The Legal SeparationCouples can engage in a legal separation, which is known as a “limited divorce.” This means that you are divorced from bed and board. There are benefits to a separation. For starters, one spouse may be able to remain on health insurance and take advantage of tax benefits. Also, it allows each spouse adequate time to get on their feet financially and slowly prepare for a full dissolution of the marriage.Limited divorces often require grounds, which are different from a final divorce. Your separation will still require that parties pay child support, handle debts and so forth.The Waiting Period for a DivorceUncontested divorces can take approximately two to three months to complete. However, a contested divorce can last approximately 18 months due to the back and forth negotiations, and issues that are typically decided by the courts. Insurance Coverage for Spouses and ChildrenThe person that is carrying the health insurance for their spouse and children cannot drop them from the policy until the divorce is final. Even then, the federal law requires that employees cover the spouse for up to 36 months with a small additional premium after the divorce to allow them time to reinsure themselves. However, the employer must be notified of the divorce decree.It is Best to Consult with a Family Law AttorneyIf you are considering a divorce in the state of Virginia, realize that family courts here operate differently than others. Therefore, it is in your best interest to speak with an attorney and explore your options.A Fairfax County divorce attorney can help you go over your options, but also help you decide which might be best based on your budget and family situation.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
If you and your spouse have decided that a divorce is the best choice for your case, you may wonder what type of divorce is best.In the state of Virginia, your options are extensive, but it comes down to the grounds for divorce.  If you can agree on your reasons for divorce and the terms of your decree, you will find that the process is simpler compared to other divorce cases.Regardless, Virginia can consider the allegations of fault; therefore, you must be cautious about how you want to go about filing for divorce.Uncontested Divorce versus Contested DivorceDivorces can be challenged in the state, which means you must have proof that there is a contest. Uncontested means you mutually agree to the process.The Uncontested DivorceAn uncontested divorce means that both parties accept the divorce. You have a written Separation Agreement, which proves that you are agreed upon separation terms, child custody and support, and how you will divide all marital assets. If you do not have children, you can file for divorce within six months of your separation. With kids, you must be separated for at least one year before you can file for the divorce.The Contested DivorceA contested divorce means that one party does not agree to the divorce, or there are disputed issues on the separation agreement. Therefore, you will need to go through the divorce process, wherein disputes on items like alimony, visitation, and child support will be resolved.  The Legal SeparationCouples can engage in a legal separation, which is known as a “limited divorce.” This means that you are divorced from bed and board. There are benefits to a separation. For starters, one spouse may be able to remain on health insurance and take advantage of tax benefits. Also, it allows each spouse adequate time to get on their feet financially and slowly prepare for a full dissolution of the marriage.Limited divorces often require grounds, which are different from a final divorce. Your separation will still require that parties pay child support, handle debts and so forth.The Waiting Period for a DivorceUncontested divorces can take approximately two to three months to complete. However, a contested divorce can last approximately 18 months due to the back and forth negotiations, and issues that are typically decided by the courts. Insurance Coverage for Spouses and ChildrenThe person that is carrying the health insurance for their spouse and children cannot drop them from the policy until the divorce is final. Even then, the federal law requires that employees cover the spouse for up to 36 months with a small additional premium after the divorce to allow them time to reinsure themselves. However, the employer must be notified of the divorce decree.It is Best to Consult with a Family Law AttorneyIf you are considering a divorce in the state of Virginia, realize that family courts here operate differently than others. Therefore, it is in your best interest to speak with an attorney and explore your options.A Fairfax County divorce attorney can help you go over your options, but also help you decide which might be best based on your budget and family situation.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
A workplace injury is something that no one expects. But when it happens to you, you need to be prepared for what to do next. Workplace injuries can be tragic. Not only are you no longer able to work, but you still must support your family and navigate the complex area of workers’ compensation. Workers’ compensation is a state-sponsored insurance that is designed to provide you with financial assistance if you become injured and are unable to work because of a work-related injury or illness.Where Did Workers’ Compensation Come From?In 1882, Labor Day established the movement in which employees found that they were overworked, underpaid, and often mistreated by their employers. The parade in 1882 was what brought awareness and forced workers to stand up for their rights. Today, workplaces know that they must care for their employees and take care of them when they become injured.Not only are there federal regulations, but now states require that employers care for their employees in the event they are injured on the job.Facts to Know about Workers’ Compensation in New JerseyIf you work in New Jersey, and you are injured on the job, you may qualify for workers’ compensation. However, you must know the facts about how this insurance works and the process for receiving payment.Eligibility – You are eligible for workers’ compensation when you sustain a work-related injury, disease, or illness. These must arise out of the ordinary course of employment. Even if you are no longer working, if the injury stems back from your employment, you can still collect the benefits, but you must prove that it was work-related to do so. You can also obtain benefits for injuries from work-related accidents, such as lifting, falling, or an automobile accident. Repetitive motion or exposure to toxins also qualifies.Lost Wages – You can receive temporary disability benefits from workers’ compensation if you have become disabled due to your work-related injury or illness. However, you must be disabled for seven consecutive days before you can unlock the lost wages benefit. From there, you will only receive 70 percent of your average weekly salary, which is subject to the maximum set by the statute. Medical Benefits and Payments – Your employer, via workers’ compensation insurance, provides payment for all necessary and acceptable medical treatments. These treatments must be required for your recovery. Your employer and the insurer do have the right to select the physician that will provide treatment for your injuries.Permanent Disability Benefits – You may receive additional payments after you have exhausted the temporary disability benefits and medical treatments only if you have a permanent disability. You do not need a total permanent disability to collect this version of disability benefits, but you could receive lifetime benefits if it is decided that you are permanently unable to work due to the injury or illness.Fault Does Not Apply – Unlike regular injury cases, responsibility does not apply in a workers’ compensation case. Therefore, even if the accident was your fault or partially your fault, you can receive workers’ compensation as long as you were not under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or maliciously causing the injury.Speak with a Workers’ Compensation Attorney for More InformationIt is important that you talk to a workers’ compensation attorney in New Jersey to explore your options. Work alongside a workers’ compensation attorney in New Jersey that can help you obtain the compensation you need and one that is familiar with the latest statutes for injured workers.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
Dangerous drugs are not released onto the market knowing that they are dangerous. Instead, it comes out later that those medications caused adverse effects.Today, there are several known drugs on the market that are dangerous for certain users. Some have lead to adverse reactions, while taken the lives of patients that trusted in these medications.Not all bad drugs or adverse reactions result in a class action lawsuit. Instead, these cases involve multiple parties and similar instances.What is a Class Action Lawsuit?A class action lawsuit is one where groups of people with similar injuries from the same medication sue a single defendant as a group rather than individually.When a class action lawsuit occurs, the victims are still seeking justice against the company that released the dangerous medication or product. Class action suits have an important purpose. When multiple people have suffered similar injuries, but the specifics or severity of the individual injuries vary – these cases are often better off consolidating rather than suing alone.The Benefits of a Class Action for Dangerous DrugsA class action helps bring lawsuits together and takes away thousands of claims by consolidating them into one. The process is more efficient for all parties, especially for the victims. Victims do not have to wait as long to receive a settlement either.Also, the class action lawsuit will lower the costs of litigation, which means plaintiffs do not spend as much on attorney’s fees for their cases either.Another benefit to these types of claims is that all plaintiffs receive compensation – even if they have minor injuries. It can protect the plaintiffs in the event the defendant goes bankrupt too.What are Dangerous Drugs?Dangerous drugs are those with adverse reactions, harmful side effects, and dangerous interactions not previously mentioned to the public. Most of these defects are found after the drug has been on the market for several years; therefore, the number of injuries and plaintiffs is often much larger.What About the U.S. Food and Drug Administration?The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), is responsible for protecting the health and safety of the public. They must regulate all food, biologics, and medications sold to the consumer market. A common misconception is that the FDA approves all medications prescribed to patients or sold over-the-counter.In reality, very few medications have FDA approval. Some medications are subject to FDA approval, while others are not officially approved until being on the market for several months or years. Unfortunately, you cannot sue the FDA for a dangerous drug. As a government agency, they are protected by sovereign immunity.Who Can You Hold Accountable?In these types of cases, the pharmaceutical company, physician, and marketing company associated with the dangerous drug could be held responsible. However, if that same medication carries FDA approval, you cannot sue the manufacturer for any harmful side effects, interactions, and adverse reactions.Hiring an Attorney for the Case is BestIf you or a loved one has been harmed by a dangerous drug, it is in your best interest to speak with an attorney that has experience with these types of lawsuits. Dangerous drug cases are highly complex, and if your case develops into a class action lawsuit, you need an Indianapolis attorney who can help you with your class action suit. More importantly, you need an attorney to represent your best interests in the midst a class action suit.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
When you visit your family physician or even the local hospital, you expect that the doctor is trained, experienced, and ready to care for you. However, even the most competent doctors make mistakes. When these mistakes lead to serious injury, the patient does have the right to hold that doctor accountable for his or her mistakes. Not all bad outcomes in the medical field are malpractice. Instead, a doctor must breach his or her duty to the patient and that breach must stem from negligence.10 Examples of Medical Malpractice ErrorsCertain errors are almost always matters of malpractice. If you suspect that you are the victim of malpractice, it is in your best interest to speak with a malpractice attorney in Indianapolis. Surgical Errors - Surgical errors are quite common in the United States, and almost always a matter of negligence. For example, a doctor could accidentally cut an artery during the operation or damage nerves permanently leading to paralysis. Failure to Use Diagnostic Tests or Results - Modern medicine is blessed with some of the best diagnostic tools. However, some physicians refuse to use them or rely on their judgement. Often, this leads to catastrophic results. For example, a man enters the ER with chest pain. Instead of ordering an EKG to rule out a heart attack, the doctor diagnoses him with panic attacks and sends him home.An Avoidable Delay in Treatment - Certain conditions require immediate treatment, otherwise they could be fatal. If a doctor fails to provide treatment, and there is no acceptable reason for that delay, they could be considered negligent.Prescription Errors - More patients today take multiple prescriptions everyday, which means health care providers have to be extra cautious about not only what they prescribe, but whether that new drug could interact with an existing one. If a physician fails to consider a patient’s current medication list (including over-the-counter versions), a serious reaction may occur.Failure to Communicate - Important details can be learned from a patient just by discussing items with them. These transfer points between patient to doctor to other healthcare professionals are critical, and often neglected today. Details fall between the cracks, which means patients are at higher risk for injury.Careless Hygiene - Physicians and health care clinics are required to sanitize properly between patients. Sadly, thousands of hospital-acquired infections occur each year because of inadequate hygiene, such as urinary tract infections, pneumonia, and deadly gastrointestinal infections.Pharmacy  Dispensing Errors - Sometimes it is not the physician, but the pharmacy filling the prescription order. In this case, a pharmacy might misread the instructions, dosage, or fill the wrong medication entirely.Lack of Medical Knowledge - It is impossible for a physician to know everything, which is why there are specialists in specific fields of medicine. A physician that does not know the proper answer or finds him or herself outside of their realm of expertise is required to refer their patient to someone who is competent and capable enough to handle the case. When a physician fails to do so, serious injuries can occur.Inadequate Follow Up - The procedure or treatment initially could go just fine. But if there is no follow-up, physicians are unaware of how their patient is progressing, and patients might not realize that something is wrong with their treatment plan. Improper Monitoring - Physicians are required to monitor patients, whether they are in an operating room, conducting an outpatient procedure, or treating a patient in their office. When a patient is not monitored before, during, and after a procedure, serious errors often occur.Patients Have the Right to Compensation for Medical ErrorsMedical errors are on the rise in the United States, but victims do not have to sit by and accept the results. Any time a patient is harmed because of a physician’s negligence, they have the right to receive compensation for their pain and suffering, lost wages, and additional medical costs that they endure because of that negligence.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
When you visit your family physician or even the local hospital, you expect that the doctor is trained, experienced, and ready to care for you. However, even the most competent doctors make mistakes. When these mistakes lead to serious injury, the patient does have the right to hold that doctor accountable for his or her mistakes. Not all bad outcomes in the medical field are malpractice. Instead, a doctor must breach his or her duty to the patient and that breach must stem from negligence.10 Examples of Medical Malpractice ErrorsCertain errors are almost always matters of malpractice. If you suspect that you are the victim of malpractice, it is in your best interest to speak with a malpractice attorney in Indianapolis. Surgical Errors - Surgical errors are quite common in the United States, and almost always a matter of negligence. For example, a doctor could accidentally cut an artery during the operation or damage nerves permanently leading to paralysis. Failure to Use Diagnostic Tests or Results - Modern medicine is blessed with some of the best diagnostic tools. However, some physicians refuse to use them or rely on their judgement. Often, this leads to catastrophic results. For example, a man enters the ER with chest pain. Instead of ordering an EKG to rule out a heart attack, the doctor diagnoses him with panic attacks and sends him home.An Avoidable Delay in Treatment - Certain conditions require immediate treatment, otherwise they could be fatal. If a doctor fails to provide treatment, and there is no acceptable reason for that delay, they could be considered negligent.Prescription Errors - More patients today take multiple prescriptions everyday, which means health care providers have to be extra cautious about not only what they prescribe, but whether that new drug could interact with an existing one. If a physician fails to consider a patient’s current medication list (including over-the-counter versions), a serious reaction may occur.Failure to Communicate - Important details can be learned from a patient just by discussing items with them. These transfer points between patient to doctor to other healthcare professionals are critical, and often neglected today. Details fall between the cracks, which means patients are at higher risk for injury.Careless Hygiene - Physicians and health care clinics are required to sanitize properly between patients. Sadly, thousands of hospital-acquired infections occur each year because of inadequate hygiene, such as urinary tract infections, pneumonia, and deadly gastrointestinal infections.Pharmacy  Dispensing Errors - Sometimes it is not the physician, but the pharmacy filling the prescription order. In this case, a pharmacy might misread the instructions, dosage, or fill the wrong medication entirely.Lack of Medical Knowledge - It is impossible for a physician to know everything, which is why there are specialists in specific fields of medicine. A physician that does not know the proper answer or finds him or herself outside of their realm of expertise is required to refer their patient to someone who is competent and capable enough to handle the case. When a physician fails to do so, serious injuries can occur.Inadequate Follow Up - The procedure or treatment initially could go just fine. But if there is no follow-up, physicians are unaware of how their patient is progressing, and patients might not realize that something is wrong with their treatment plan. Improper Monitoring - Physicians are required to monitor patients, whether they are in an operating room, conducting an outpatient procedure, or treating a patient in their office. When a patient is not monitored before, during, and after a procedure, serious errors often occur.Patients Have the Right to Compensation for Medical ErrorsMedical errors are on the rise in the United States, but victims do not have to sit by and accept the results. Any time a patient is harmed because of a physician’s negligence, they have the right to receive compensation for their pain and suffering, lost wages, and additional medical costs that they endure because of that negligence.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
Eminent domain is not something most Americans think about until they are presented with a letter from their local government exercising it. Eminent domain gives a government or a government agency the right to take public property and transform it for public use. While the state or government agency must compensate the owner of that private property, the compensation is rarely adequate for the owner’s loss.While the government can exercise its right to take over your property, they do have limitations. If they fail to follow specific procedures, they could lose their right to your property. What is the Eminent Domain Procedure in Indiana?First, the government must identify a project need in a specific neighborhood. Once that project is approved, the government will hire an engineer. The engineer establishes the initial design, which would include private properties they must acquire to complete their project. Sometimes the entire private parcel is purchased, while other times only half the private property is taken.From there, the government must follow several more highly specific steps.Appraisal of the Properties - First, the government must hire an appraiser. The appraiser’s sole job is to assess each property, determine the fair market value, and then provide that value to the government agency so that they can create their offer to the owner(s). Sadly, these appraisers do not inspect the real property. Instead, they drive by, do a quick online assessment, and use generic values. For the homeowner, this means a severely under-appraised property and low offer.Sending the Offer - Next, the state or agency attempting to acquire your property must make the official offer to you, the owner. During the offer phase is where most problems arise, because there is typically a disagreement between the state and the owner on value.“Taking” in an Eminent Domain CaseUnder the Fifth Amendment in the U.S. Constitution, private lands cannot be “taken” for public use by the government. Taking does not just mean seizing the property. Instead, other actions the state takes could constitute taking.Essentially, any time the government takes your land for public use, they are taking that land. Instead, they must offer a fair, true market value. If they were to purposely offer a low amount for your property, that could constitute “taking” as well.Hiring an Attorney for Negotiations is BestIt is always best to hire an attorney that practices in eminent domains in Indiana to negotiate with the city or state over your property value. Also, having an attorney present ensures that the state does not exercise condemnation actions. The negotiation process for eminent domain is extensive, and a real negotiation involves several offers and counteroffers between both parties. An attorney representing your best interests ensures you receive a fair deal in your case.Seeking Damages in an Eminent Domain CaseYou have the right to damages (compensation) if all or parts of your land are seized for eminent domain purposes. The compensation essentially covers your loss in property value and other economic damages. If the government has threatened to take your land for eminent domain, do not assume you do not have rights. Instead, speak with an attorney in Indianapolis that has experience with these types of claims.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
Eminent domain is not something most Americans think about until they are presented with a letter from their local government exercising it. Eminent domain gives a government or a government agency the right to take public property and transform it for public use. While the state or government agency must compensate the owner of that private property, the compensation is rarely adequate for the owner’s loss.While the government can exercise its right to take over your property, they do have limitations. If they fail to follow specific procedures, they could lose their right to your property. What is the Eminent Domain Procedure in Indiana?First, the government must identify a project need in a specific neighborhood. Once that project is approved, the government will hire an engineer. The engineer establishes the initial design, which would include private properties they must acquire to complete their project. Sometimes the entire private parcel is purchased, while other times only half the private property is taken.From there, the government must follow several more highly specific steps.Appraisal of the Properties - First, the government must hire an appraiser. The appraiser’s sole job is to assess each property, determine the fair market value, and then provide that value to the government agency so that they can create their offer to the owner(s). Sadly, these appraisers do not inspect the real property. Instead, they drive by, do a quick online assessment, and use generic values. For the homeowner, this means a severely under-appraised property and low offer.Sending the Offer - Next, the state or agency attempting to acquire your property must make the official offer to you, the owner. During the offer phase is where most problems arise, because there is typically a disagreement between the state and the owner on value.“Taking” in an Eminent Domain CaseUnder the Fifth Amendment in the U.S. Constitution, private lands cannot be “taken” for public use by the government. Taking does not just mean seizing the property. Instead, other actions the state takes could constitute taking.Essentially, any time the government takes your land for public use, they are taking that land. Instead, they must offer a fair, true market value. If they were to purposely offer a low amount for your property, that could constitute “taking” as well.Hiring an Attorney for Negotiations is BestIt is always best to hire an attorney that practices in eminent domains in Indiana to negotiate with the city or state over your property value. Also, having an attorney present ensures that the state does not exercise condemnation actions. The negotiation process for eminent domain is extensive, and a real negotiation involves several offers and counteroffers between both parties. An attorney representing your best interests ensures you receive a fair deal in your case.Seeking Damages in an Eminent Domain CaseYou have the right to damages (compensation) if all or parts of your land are seized for eminent domain purposes. The compensation essentially covers your loss in property value and other economic damages. If the government has threatened to take your land for eminent domain, do not assume you do not have rights. Instead, speak with an attorney in Indianapolis that has experience with these types of claims.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
Automobile accidents happen daily, especially in the greater Los Angeles area. With the volume of vehicles on LA streets and freeways, accidents are almost inevitable. However, these incidents spawn various myths. Myths regarding compensation, liability, and even when you need to hire an attorney.Whether you are in an accident or you just like to be prepared, it is imperative that you understand these common myths and the truth so that you do not face any surprises in your accident claim.What are the Common Myths about Auto Accidents in Southern California?You are a licensed driver in the state of California, but do you know your rights if you are involved in an accident that was not your fault? You might be surprised at some of the myths circulating out there regarding your rights or limitations.Wherever your vehicle is towed you must use that company to repair it. While your car winds up at a local auto body shop after being towed, you are not required to use that company to repair it. In fact, the state of California gives you the discretion to pick and choose your repair company. Therefore, you do not have to use the business that accepts your damaged vehicle.I do not have to worry because I have full coverage on my insurance. Do you know what full coverage entails? If you have collision and comprehensive coverage on your car, that does not mean you will have no out-of-pocket costs. Instead, it comes down to the policy maximums you have purchased. If you bought the bare minimum required by California, you most definitely do not have full coverage.My injuries are minor; therefore, I do not need to go to the emergency room. Too often people walk away from accidents and fail to seek medical attention. That night or the next day is when the full extent of their injuries are finally felt. Regardless of how you feel, you must go to the doctor or emergency room as quickly as possible after an accident. It not only ensures you receive prompt treatment but prevents insurance companies from denying your claim stating that you did not have serious injuries as a direct result of the crash.The at-fault party’s insurance will settle to avoid litigation. Not true. While most claims are resolved out of court, it takes quite a while and back-and-forth negotiations to get there. Furthermore, some insurance companies will stall or refuse to pay; forcing you to file a claim in court and go through the process.The responsible party must pay for my vehicle even if I owe more than it is worth. Sadly, this is untrue. The law requires that the responsible party only pay the retail market value of your vehicle before the incident. Therefore, your settlement might not be enough to pay off your bank loan. However, your attorney has the resources and knowledge to ensure you can pay that loan off and not be left with negative equity.The Biggest Myth: You Do Not Need an Accident Attorney (Wrong)One of the biggest myths out there is that victims assume they do not need an accident attorney. Do not let an insurance company talk you into thinking this, and do not talk yourself into assuming you can handle an insurance company alone. Instead, it is imperative that you speak with an experienced accident attorney in Los Angeles. You have the right to consult with a lawyer, and it is the best option.  It ensures that you can focus on recovering from your accident while your attorney worries about retrieving compensation.Bottom line, never make important decisions based on myths. Instead, learn the rules, laws, and your rights. That way if you are ever in an accident, you are not left without.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 3 months ago
The Zone Program Integrity Contractors (ZPIC) program, which was designed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), can seek out and act against those that are potentially participating in Medicare or Medicaid fraud. The primary goal of this audit is to identify potential abuse, waste, and fraud. It is important to note that ZPIC is not only for fraud. Even waste is something that a ZPIC audit seeks out to avoid unnecessary waste of taxpayer dollars. It is also important to recognize that ZPIC contractors are not the same as CMS contractors. What Prompts a ZPIC Audit?A ZPIC investigation will usually start when the provider receives a notification. The review system is not at random; instead, there are factors used to decide which providers warrant a professional inspection. Complaints received and referrals may also prompt audit.Factors that influence audits include:Data Analysis – ZPIC can use data to help identify outliers that require an audit. This can include issuing specific services, billing data, the length of stay compared to national data and so forth. For example, an acute hospital care facility with an unusual number of cases might prompt an audit. Another example is a home health care service with patients having extended visits.Complaints – Complaints are made by employees, beneficiaries, and whistleblowers. These claims will almost always trigger a ZPIC audit.Referrals – ZPIC may receive referrals to conduct an audit from other contractors, law enforcement, and other federal agencies.Does ZPIC Have the Authority to Conduct an Audit?ZPIC does have the authority to conduct inspections. They can identify potential fraud, then make recommendations based on their audit results. The actions they could take if they suspect that your organization is guilty of waste or fraud include:Referring cases to law enforcement.Submitting the case to CMS for further investigation or to officially remove the provider from the program.Conducting a visit to the auditee’s location – without announcement.Interviewing staff and management at the facility under audit.Requesting all documentation, medical records, and patient charts to assess charges.Providers are not always warned about an upcoming audit. Instead, ZPIC has the authority to start their investigation and show at the provider's office without notification. In most ZPIC cases, the information comes when the auditor arrives on the scene.Some Providers are More Prone to ZPIC Audits than OthersZPIC tends to audit some providers more than others. In fact, the types targeted in 2017 primarily consist of:Home health organizationsHospice companiesPain management servicesPhysician offices and private practicesAmbulance servicesDiagnostic testing facilitiesClinical laboratoriesChiropractic officesNurse practitionersProtecting Your LicenseZPIC is serious. ZPIC can refer to have you removed from the Medicare and Medicaid programs, but also revoke your license, which makes it impossible for you to treat your patients or operate. ZPIC does have the authority to audit, and a simple analysis of coding and billing with any errors noted could cost your company its license.Therefore, it is imperative that you hire an attorney that has ZPIC experience. Your attorney can defend your practice, hire in house professionals to reassess your billing practices, and protect your license.
Leona Zoey asked a question: — 5 months ago
Were you born between 1980 and 2000? Then welcome to the Millennial club! Also known as Generation Y, your cohort is now grown up and looking for a place to live, and all the statistics show you prefer cities over suburbia. What's more, you have no problems moving across the globe to experience life in the latest cool place, and are just as comfortable in Vienna as you are in Vancouver. If you are happy anywhere with an Apple store and a Starbucks, then I encourage you to read on. These are the top 10 cities for Millennials in 2017.