Product Review: Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Purifying Cream Cleanser and Toner

Knoji reviews products and up-and-coming brands we think you'll love. In certain cases, we may receive a commission from brands mentioned in our guides. Learn more.
A product review from a very happy consumer, detailing personal experience, results, and pricing.

I, like most women, want to have beautiful, healthy skin.  Not only that, we also hope to defy the encroaching signs of age that seem to show first on our facial skin.  There are a myriad of products on the market that claim another myriad of amazing results with regular use.  How is one to know what really works and what is just a clever marketing ploy that fails to live up to the hype?  Personally, I look for two things:  the longevity of the company and product, and personal testimonials not associated with the company.  With this product review, I hope that you may have the confidence to try this facial cleanser and toner, especially if you are displeased with your current products and want to try something new.  I love it and it has worked for me for many years.  This is my experience.

Twelve years ago, I first tried some Elizabeth Arden products, in particular the Ceramide line, when I happened to be working in the cosmetics industry at that time (note:  I am no longer employed by any cosmetics company).  Elizabeth Arden was one of the first cosmetics companies to use ceramide in their products; during the past decade or more, there have been more and more companies introducing ceramides in cosmetics and hair care products. Many people may not know what role ceramides play in these products. Ceramide is a naturally occuring lipid in the skin's structure; ceramides are necessary for the skin’s water-retention capacity as well as for cell regulation. Adding ceramides to skin-care products can help to restore the skin’s barrier system (Journal of Lipid Research, September 2007; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, November 2001, pages 1126–1136; and Experimental Dermatology, October 2005, pages 719–726).  It is for these reasons that ceramide-containing products are particularly helpful to aging skin.

When I first tried them, I instantly fell in love with the Ceramide line of products, and especially the Purifying Cream Cleanser and accompanying Toner.  However, because it is more expensive than the average facial cleanser, I would only use it periodically, and skip the toner all together.  Years later, when I noticed a lack of tone and elasticity in my skin, and a few fine lines, I decided to spend the extra dollars and treat myself to the Purifying Cream Cleanser & Toner on a more regular basis.  Many women may shy away from a cream cleanser if they have oily or combination skin, thinking that it will only exacerbate the "oil-slick" problem. Au contraire!  In fact, although my skin is now maturing it is still oily in the T-zone and I found that this cleanser has actually helped reduce the oil in this area, while not drying out the skin on my cheeks and throat.  The texture of the cleanser is silky, rather than oily; it glides over the skin, and partly absorbs in to break down excessive oil and dirt (which can clog pores). After massaging the Ceramide Purifying Cream Cleanser into my face, throat and décolleté for a minute or two (it feels great!), I simply rinse with tepid water and then follow by swabbing my face and throat with a cotton ball soaked with the Ceramide Purifying Toner (which does not need rinsed off afterward). You will notice the toner needs to be shaken gently to mix it, as it settles out into two layers - a pinkish-white moisture-rich liquid, and a pale-pink toning liquid. My skin feels so fresh and clean afterward; never tight or stinging.  While the Elizabeth Arden Ceramide line may appeal more to women with early signs of aging, it can be used by all skin types and is safe for sensitive skin, as there are no added perfumes...just the gentle fragrance of the botanical ingredients.

Specifically, these were the results I experienced within the first two weeks of regular use:

  • the skin on my neck was firmer
  • the overall texture of my skin improved...it was very smooth
  • my pores seemed to be less noticeable, especially on my nose and temple region
  • remarkably, my oily T-zone was balancing out

Ceramide Purifying Cream Cleanser Product Information:

  • 4.2 fl. oz. / 125 ml
  • silky-textured cream
  • easy to use tube keeps product uncontaminated
  • Price (on website): $27 US; (at most Canadian Drugstores and Department Stores):  $33 - $40 CND

Ceramide Purifying Toner Product Information:

  • 6.7 fl. oz. / 200 ml
  • A two-phase system that activates when shaken 
  • Phase One (peach) contains botanical extracts: Chamomile, Sage, Rosemary, Mallow and Sambucus to gently cleanse and purify.
  • Phase Two (milky) contains Ceramide III to soothe and calm
  • Price (on website): $27 US;  (at most Canadian Drugstores and Department Stores): $33 - $40 CND

Depending on how liberally you apply the cleanser and toner, they should last you about two months, maybe longer.  Yes, this is more expensive than a bar of "beauty soap", but I've passed beyond the age where soap and water are going to give my skin the help it needs.  In my attempt to find a product that I truly love, but is more affordable, inevitably I am disappointed and always end up coming back to these two products:  Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Purifying Cream Cleanser and Toner.

Copyright August 2010, Sharla Smith

Photo Source:  Stock.xchng

Product information source

9 comments

Guest
Posted on Jun 13, 2011
Sharla Smith
0
Posted on Aug 29, 2010
Amy Russell
6
Posted on Aug 29, 2010
Sharla Smith
0
Posted on Aug 29, 2010
Erik Van Tongerloo
0
Posted on Aug 29, 2010
Sharla Smith
0
Posted on Aug 28, 2010
deepblue
0
Posted on Aug 28, 2010
Sharla Smith
0
Posted on Aug 27, 2010
kiran y s
0
Posted on Aug 27, 2010