London Guide - The Royal Boroughs

Knoji reviews products and up-and-coming brands we think you'll love. In certain cases, we may receive a commission from brands mentioned in our guides. Learn more.
The Royal Boroughs of London, London's Royal Boroughs, The Royal Borough of Greenwich, The Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, The Royal Borough of Kingston - Upon - Thames, The Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead, tourist attractions in London's

A Royal Borough is designated with royal status by way of an express wish of a monarch. There are seven Royal Boroughs situated within England and one in the Principality of Wales. Of these eight Royal Boroughs three are situated in London and one is situated in the Greater London area.

Below are listed, in alphabetical order, the four Royal Boroughs situated in and around the United Kingdom's capital.


We start our list with London's newest Royal Borough, designated in 2012 to mark the diamond jubilee (sixty years) of the reign of H.R.H Queen Elisabeth II.

Greenwich is situated in south, east London on the south bank of the River Thames and is possibly the most famous of all the Royal Boroughs, as it is home to the world renowned Greenwich Meridian and Greenwich Mean Time.

Before the advent of the Greenwich Meridian, the borough was reknowned for being the birthplace of most of the British, Tudor monarchs at the former Greenwich Palace which once stood in Greenwich Park.

Today the borough is an UNESCO World Heritage Site which is home to Greenwich Royal Park, The Royal Observatory, The Royal Naval College, the National Maritime Museum, the Queen’s House and the Cutty Sark. 

For more information about Greenwich visit my article - London Guide: The London Borough of Greenwich


This Royal Borough covers  4.7 square miles of central London, and with it's population of nearly 160.000 people, it is the most densely populated borough in the United Kingdom.

The borough was designated with royal status in 1965, due to it being the birthplace of Queen Victoria at Kensington Palace in 1819.

The borough is home to many London tourist attractions including Earls Court Exhibition Centre, Harrods department store, Kensington Palace birthplace of Queen Victoria and former residence of Diana, Princess of Wales, The Royal Chelsea Hospital home of the annual Chelsea Flower Show, The Saatchi Gallery, The Science Museum, The Natural History Museum, The Victoria and Albert Museum, and the Royal Albert Hall.

This borough is also classified as being the wealthiest borough in the United Kingdom, and is home to seventeen districts, some of which have the most prestigious post codes in the land, which include the areas of Bayswater, Belgravia, Chelsea, Knightsbridge and West Kensington, and the iconic streets of Sloan Square, the King’s Road, Kensington High Street, Portobello Road and Notting Hill Gate.

Of all the Royal Boroughs Kensington and Chelsea is the easiest to access as it is served by no less than twelve London Underground stations and the six underground lines of the Bakerloo, Central, Circle, District, Hammersmith and City and Piccadilly lines.

For more information about this area of London visit my article - London Guide: The City of Westminster




Ron Siojo
Posted on Jan 27, 2012
Abdel-moniem El-Shorbagy
Posted on Jan 23, 2012
M 5446
Posted on Jan 22, 2012
Posted on Jan 21, 2012
Donata L.
Posted on Jan 21, 2012