Facts About The National Hockey League's Calder Memorial Trophy

Knoji reviews products and up-and-coming brands we think you'll love. In certain cases, we may receive a commission from brands mentioned in our guides. Learn more.
The Calder Memorial Trophy is awarded to the best first year player in the NHL each season.

The Calder Memorial Trophy is handed out at the end of each National Hockey League season to the top first year player in the league. The Trophy was introduced for the 1932-33 season and the winner was Carl Voss of the Detroit Red Wings. The most recent winner was Tyler Myers of the Buffalo Sabres.

Rookies from the Toronto Maple Leafs have won the Calder Trophy the most times at nine. However, no player from the Maple Leafs has won since Brit Selby did it in 1965-66. Of the twelve teams that played in the first year of NHL expansion, 1967-68, three have not had a Calder Trophy winner in the over forty years since. Along with the Maple Leafs, the Detroit Red Wings and Philadelphia Flyers make up those three teams. The Flyers, being an expansion team in 1967, have never had a Calder Trophy winner. Of the current thirty teams in the NHL, eight have never had a Calder Trophy recipient.

It’s fitting that the only team to have players win the Calder Trophy in three consecutive years is Toronto. In 1942-43, Gaye Stewart won the award. Stewart was followed by Gud Bodnar in 1943-44 and Frank McCool in 1944-45.

The last NHL club to have Calder Trophy winners in consecutive seasons was the New York Rangers and that was way back in the 1950’s. In the 1952-53 season, the Hockey Hall of Fame goaltender Gump Worsley won the award. The following season it was Camille Henry winning the award for the Rangers.

On only eight occasions, the Calder Trophy winner played for the Stanley Cup champion in the same season. After Kent Douglas won the Calder with the Stanley Cup winning Toronto Maple Leafs during the 1962-63 season, this feat has only been accomplished one other time since. Scott Gomez won the Calder Trophy while playing for the New Jersey Devils during the 1999-00 season. In the Stanley Cup finals, the Devils beat the Dallas Stars to win the holy grail of hockey.

Since the 1967-68 expansion season, the Calgary / Atlanta Flames have had the most players win the Calder Trophy. Two players won the award when the franchise was in Atlanta and three have won in a Calgary Flames jersey. The New York Islanders, Boston Bruins and Chicago Blackhawks trail just behind with four Calder Trophy winners each since 1968.

Some of the potential candidates to win the Calder Trophy for the 2010-11 season are: Cam Fowler, Anaheim Ducks; Tyler Seguin, Boston Bruins; P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens; Jeff Skinner, Carolina Hurricanes; Jordan Eberle, Edmonton Oilers; Taylor Hall, Edmonton Oilers.


Abdel-moniem El-Shorbagy
Posted on Jun 6, 2011
Account Deletion Requested
Posted on Apr 9, 2011