Facts About Meg Cabot

Knoji reviews products and up-and-coming brands we think you'll love. In certain cases, we may receive a commission from brands mentioned in our guides. Learn more.
Meg Cabot is a New York Times best selling author of books for young adult and adults. She has written in several genres including historical romance, young adult, and contemporary adult fiction. She is well know for the popular series The Princess Diar

Meg Cabot is a New York Times bestselling author of books for young adults and adults.  She is best known for the Princess Diaries series. 

Meg Cabot was born on February 1, 1967 in Bloomington, Indiana.  She has also lived in France and California.  After graduating from Indiana University with a Bachelor’s degree in Fine Arts, Cabot moved to New York City.  For ten years, she worked as a resident assistant at New York University.   Cabot drew inspiration from her New York University experience to write the Heather Wells Mystery series.  Two new books for this series will be released in 2012 and 2013. 

Meg is also the author of The Princess Diaries series which were made into two hit Disney movies; and translated into 38 languages.  This popular series sold 16 million copies.  Meg also wrote 1-800-Where R U? series which was renamed Vanished.   Vanished was made into a Lifetime television series called Missing.   Other novels including All American Girl and Avalon High were also made into movies. 

Meg Cabot has written in several genres including historical romance, young adult fiction, and contemporary adult fiction.  She has been an avid reader from a very young age.  She discovered classical novels such as Harper Lee ‘s To Kill A Mockingbird and Jane Eyre by  English author Charlotte Bronte.  In addition to reading books, Cabot was obsessed with princesses growing up.

In high school, Meg wrote her own stories.  She also wrote for her school newspaper and participated in after school activities including choir, theater, and art club.  Cabot didn’t originally plan to pursue professional writing as a career.  She wanted to become an actress or veterinarian. 

After earning her bachelor’s degree, Meg Cabot moved to New York to pursue a career as an illustrator.  Instead she landed a job at New York University.  During her free time at work, Meg focused on writing. 

Below is a brief listing of some of Meg Cabot’s books.  To see a complete listing , visit her website: www.megcabot.com

  • Allie Finkle’s  Rules For Girls series
  • The Princess Diaries series
  • All American Girl
  • Vanish/1-800 Where R U? series
  • Avalon High
  • The Mediator
  • Airhead
  • Abandon

Meg also writes books for adults which include Queen of Babble, She Went All the Way , and The “Boy” series.  If you would like learn more about Meg Cabot and her work, visit her website www.megcabotcom and connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.